# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE REGION F WATER PLANNING GROUP 10:30 A.M., THURSDAY, MAY 18, 2023 AT THE OFFICE OF THE COLORADO RIVER MUNICIPAL WATER DISTRICT 400 E. 24<sup>TH</sup> ST. BIG SPRING, TEXAS

The Region F Water Planning Group (WPG) met at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, May 18, 2023 at the Office of the Colorado River Municipal Water District in Big Spring, Texas and. Voting members present were: Cole Walker, Kenneth Dierschke, Gil Van Deventer, Henryk Olstowski, Richard Gist, Raymond Straub, and Ty Edwards. Non-voting members present were: Elizabeth McCoy and Emma Jones, TWDB; Dale Adams, Nolan County; Allison Strube, CRMWD; and Ashley Masters, GMA 7. Other interested parties present were: Simone Kiel and Jordan Skipworth with Freese & Nichols; John Allen and Dale Weaver, BCWID #1; JD Lawrence, TDA; Ken Rainwater, Region O; Diana Thomas, Sterling County UWCD; Jill Johnson; Audra Hoback and Mary Nelson from Colorado River Municipal Water District.

# Call to Order

Chair, Cole Walker, called the meeting to order at 10:37 a.m. A quorum was present.

# Introductions and Opening Remarks

Voting and Non-Voting members and audience attendees introduced themselves.

# Public Comment

There was no public comment.

# Voting Membership

Cole Walker presented the voting member term expiration and renewal applications of: Gilbert Van Deventer, Henryk Olstowski, Scott McWilliams, Raymond Straub, Rhetta Hector, Richard Gist, and Ty Edwards.

Motion to accept renewal nominations was made by Kenneth Dierschke and seconded by Gil Van Deventer. Motion passed unanimously.

Cole Walker presented the voting member resignations of:

Jimmy Carlile and Merle Taylor. Eli Torres – Municipalities and Grant Huckabay – Industries were nominated to fill the two open positions. A motion to accept the resignations and to accept the nominations was made by Ty Edwards and seconded by Gil Van Deventer. Motion passed unanimously.

Cole Walker presented nominations for voting member open positions of: John Allen – Counties and Schuyler Wight – Agriculture. A motion to accept the nominations was made by Kenneth Dierschke and seconded by Raymond Straub. Motion passed unanimously.

### **Non-Voting Membership**

Cole Walker presented the non-voting member nomination of:

JD Lawrence representing the Texas Department of Agriculture and Linay Williams. Motion to accept the nominations was made by Kenneth Dierschke and seconded by Henryk Olstowski. Motion passed unanimously.

### **Designated Alternates**

Cole Walker presented the voting member designated alternate applications of: Ashley Masters for Rhetta Hector – GMA 7, Jill Johnson Baker for Raymond Straub Jr. – GMA 2, Gene Carter for Henry Olstowski – Electric Generating Utility, Dale Littlejohn for Gilbert Van Deventer – Environmental.

Motion to accept voting member designated alternates was made by Ty Edwards and seconded by Raymond Straub. Motion passed unanimously.

# **Region F Administrative Matters**

- a. Consideration of the Minutes of the February 23, 2023 meeting: Motion to accept made by Ty Edwards and seconded by Gil Van Deventer. Motion passed unanimously.
- b. Financial Report: CRMWD is the designated Political Subdivision for Region F and contracts with the Water Development Board, manages funds and keeps meeting minutes. The Administrative Fund had a balance of \$29,421.02 as of January 31, 2023. The Planning Fund had a balance of \$4,964.94 as of January 31, 2022. Motion to accept made by Gil Van Deventer and seconded by Raymond Straub. Motion passed unanimously.

# Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) Report

Elizabeth McCoy, TWDB Project Manager, provided Region F and TWDB updates and information on rule changes and revisions to the State Water Plan, changes to the regional water planning process, Sixth Cycle Planning updates, revisions to plumbing code savings projections and reminder of upcoming critical deadlines.

Emma Jones, TWDB, presented on the TWDB methodology for draft population and municipal demands projections

For Consideration July 20, 2023

### Planning Process

Simone Kiel asked the group to adopt the proposed changes to the draft non-municipal demands for the 2026 Region F Plan which was presented at the previous meeting. Henryk Olstowski made a motion to accept. Kenneth Dierschke seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Jordan Skipworth reviewed and discussed the draft population and municipal demand projections for the 2026 Region F Plan with the group. No action was taken.

Simone Kiel presented the need to review and pinpoint any potentially infeasible water management strategies from the 2021 Region F Plan. Not action was taken.

#### Next Meeting Date

The next meeting date will be July 20, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

#### <u>Adjourn</u>

Motion by Ty Edwards and seconded by Richard Gist. Motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 12.18 p.m.

Raymond Straub, Jr., Secretary Region F Water Planning Group

Cole Walker, Chair Region F Water Planning Group